Friday, November 16, 2012

Alpha Rho Tau Newsletter Mid-November 2012

 Alpha Rho Tau Newsletter
Mid-November 2012

Happy Thanksgiving!

 Just a little wish for you, your family, and friends to enjoy
 this wonderful season of giving and sharing!

Our November meeting has been moved to Tuesday, Nov. 27th… regular time and place. Please remember to bring your White Elephant!  See you for our last meeting!

ART Officers and Board for 2013

We would like to thank all our members who stepped up to serve as officers or board members for next year.  We appreciate you volunteering to work for our organization!

Our new officers are:
President – Vinicio Perez,
VP – Arielle Monks,
Secretary – Richard Coones,
Treasurer – Byrene Culver

Committee Chairmen are:
Exhibits – Jeanette Head,
Hospitality – Shelly DePriest & Karen Thompson,
Directory and Membership – Mary Oswald & Carol Mulcare,
Newsletter – Linda Monks,
Publicity – vacant,
Telephone – Cindy Crowley,
Historian – Karin Cermak,
Scholarship – Janie Crean & Mary Oswald,
Raffle – Sister Eugenia Brown & Sandy Willhite,
Website – Bill Oswald,
Cheer - Jacque Gonzales.
Thanks to those of you volunteered to work on committees! You will be called by the new committee chairmen to assist them for 2013.  Looking forward to continued success for ART in the new year!

If you have not already paid your dues for 2013, please do so before December.  You can send your $25.00 check and form to Byrene Culver or pay her at our November 27th meeting.  Thanks!

We would like to congratulate all the ribbon winners of our fantastic TCC Members’ Show of 2012.  Norman Dietert and his hard working Exhibits Committee hung 104 paintings; a big THANK YOU goes out to Renee Dotson for all her help setting this show; it is spectacular!

Our Best of Show winner is Shelly DePriest for Floating Color.

The winners in the Oil Category are:
1st Place - Mollie Erkonbrack for Carolyn as Russian,
2nd Place - Carol Mulcare for Early Autumn Morn,
3rd Place - Delores Creekmore for Look to the Past and
Honorable Mention to Sheila Parr for The Little Flute Player.

The winners in the Acrylic Category are:
1st Place – Janie Crean for Barbwire Duet,
2nd Place – Glenda Maxey for Richard,
3rd Place – Karin Cermak for Seafood Cocktail, and
Honorable Mention went to Sandi Willhite for Winter.

The winners in the Watercolor Category are:
1st Place – Renee Dotson for Gregory P.,
2nd Place - Sister Eugenia Brown for Playing to the Great Spirit,
3rd Place – Mary Oswald for October Mischief, and
Honorable Mention to Nancy Swindler for Regatta

The winners for the Mixed Media Category are:
1st Place – Marilyn Golla-Gas for Rocky Mt. Blues,
2nd Place - Carol Mullen for Stripes,
3rd Place – Nancy Swindler for Mugsy, and
Honorable Mention went to Deborah Kingsbury for Expectations.

The winners in the Computer Painting and Photography Category are:
1st Place – Richard Coones for Bar and
Honorable Mention went to Mary Maslanka for Who’s That?

The winners in the Pencil, Colored Pencils, Charcoal and Pastel Category are:
1st Place – Vonda Evans for Pistol Pete,
2nd Place – Elnora Herron for Donald Ryan,
3rd Place – Robin Hutchings for Youth Study 1, and
Honorable Mention went to Aaron Miller for First Night.

Kudos to all of you!

Please make sure to pick up your art work at the TCC Gallery on Friday, Nov. 30th from 10:00 to 12:00, noon.

Christmas Brunch and Ornament Exchange
Our November 27th meeting will be the last time for you to sign up and receive a Christmas ornament to decorate for our Christmas Brunch and Ornament Exchange.  Since we have limited room, this event is for MEMBERS ONLY.  You will be ordering off The First Watch menu and can have a great meal for under $10.00.   We will meet at 11:00 AM in their private room on Saturday, Dec. 1st at the Lewis and 81st street location.  We only have 10 seats left. Plan on joining the fun!

For the past year the Alpha Rho Tau newsletter has been sent to current and former members of ART. Current ART members (dues paid for 2013) will continue to receive the ART newsletter. Previous members who want to continue to receive the newsletter via email must reply to the sender address stating their wishes.